December 1, 2019

October 31, 2019

August 14, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

How to Read More (The Definitive Guide)

December 15, 2019

1/6
Please reload

Featured Posts

Books Set in Sydney

September 30, 2018

Lots of people who live in Sydney are not from Sydney originally (myself included). So sometimes it's really nice to read a fiction book set in your adopted city, or indeed in the city you were born and bred. Here's a list of authors and books set in Sydney, both modern and historical. They have all been read and tested and are all brilliant in their own way.

 

 

Susan Duncan – her series of autobiographical books detailing her move from the hustle and bustle of Sydney to the coast are classics now. But if you're heading towards retirement and need something to inspire you beyond, this series might just do it.

 

Liz Bryski – family inspired books with an unmistakable NSW setting, Bryski's books are perfect for fans of Monica McInernay.

 

Liane Moriarty – many of you will know and have read all of Liane Moriarty's books. But if you haven't, these are great insights into the world of family drama and school parent politics.

 

Questions of Travel by Michelle de Krester – for those of a more literary bent, Questions of Travel won the Miles Franklin Award in 2013 and is more than just a look at travel around the world. Discusses what home is and what is can mean and how Sydney is always home for some people while a tourist destination for others.

 

The Women's Pages by Debra Adelaide – So far, everything by Adelaide has been amazing. Odd at times, but her writing style is just beautiful and she doesn't shy away from tackling difficult issues in a non-confrontational way.

 

Harp in the South by Ruth Park – if you've not read this classic you really are missing out. I don't know quite how to tell you how warm Park's writing style is and how much she bring Sydney to life in this book.

 

Playing Beatie Bow by Ruth Park – two in a row by the same author, but I couldn't leave out this time-travelling classic! If you read it as a child and haven't read it since, it's still just as good.

 

Rowland Sinclair Mysteries by Surlari Gentil – these are just delightful! 1920s Sydney and Australia comes to life in these murder mysteries. You will love the colourful cast of characters, and are must reads for fans of Miss Phyrne Fisher.

 

Secret River by Kate Grenville – yes, another obvious choice for a blog on books about Sydney. But so many people still haven't read it! And it's a brilliant look at how life was in the colony of New South Wales. The ending still haunts me...

 

Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier – 1932, a day in the life of a young girl living in the depths of criminal Sydney. With elements of fantasy (there are ghosts) it nonetheless paints an accurate and damning picture of the hardships for most people living in the crowded suburb of Darlinghurst.

 

I know I've missed quite a few (Melina Marchetta's books come to mind) but this is just a start and hopefully there's something that will pique your interest!

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us
Please reload

Search By Tags